Homemade Goat Cheese- Inspired by CHARCUT

A few weeks ago, Robyn, Chris, and I attended a cooking demonstration put on by former Top Chef Canada contestant (2nd runner up), and co-owner of outstanding Calgary restaurant CHARCUT, Connie DeSousa.

Myself, Connie, and Chris

Connie’s demonstration was all about making homemade goat cheese. Perfect, I love goat cheese! And since goat cheese and my wallet are natural enemies, this was going to save me a bundle! But wouldn’t making your own cheese be a long, arduous, complicated process that requires years of expertise and skills?

Connie assured the crowd that it was, in fact, dead easy.

She was right!

The tables were filled with instructions sheets on how to make CHARCUT’s goat cheese and beet salad. I’m focusing on the goat cheese only, so I’ve cropped the recipe for you from the official instructions.

I made my first batch of cheese last week , using some random goats milk from Superstore. The result was ok, but very mild. In fact most of the flavour seemed to be from my seasonings, and not the cheese itself.

For this weeks batch, I used Fairwinds Farm organic goat milk. The first batch was good, but the second batch was outstanding. I was a bit stunned at just how much difference there was. Batch 2 was much more flavourful, creamier, and had a better texture. So I guess the lesson here is to not be such a cheapskate and start with quality ingredients. Heck, you’re saving tons of dough here anyways, so splurge a little.

Pour the milk, yogurt, and whipping cream into a pot. Whisk together and add a pouch of your favourite herbs. I used fresh dill stems and a bit of rosemary, because that’s what I had. To be honest, I don’t think I used enough but I wanted to be sure not to overpower the cheese flavour.

Bring the mixture up to 100 degrees F and remove from heat. Remove your spice pouch and stir in the dissolved rennet for a few seconds until curds start to form, then cover and let sit 1 hour.

When you come back, the curds should have formed a large mass. Slice the mass with a knife in a criss cross pattern.

Pour the curds into a sieve lined with cheesecloth. I had no luck finding cheesecloth at the first 2 stores I tried, so I took a friends suggestion and used a clean J-cloth. It worked like a charm!

Next, I folded the j-cloth over the top, and weighted the curds down with a couple soup cans in a gladware container.

After about an hour, I dumped the cheese into a bowl and mixed in some seasonings. This step is optional, and you may only want to add salt and pepper at this stage. I added a teaspoon of Herbs de Provence and a teaspoon of salt. Pepper to taste.

Mix the seasoning in thoroughly and return it to the cheese cloth. Weight it down overnight at minimum.

Next day you can give it a taste test and re-season as desired.

Enjoy!

Posted on March 29, 2012, in odds and ends, Recipe Box. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I can attest to this line, “The first batch was good, but the second batch was outstanding.” So yummy!! Will have to try this out for ourselves sometime – this creamy goat cheese would be great with caramelized onions and stewed apples over crostinis 😉

  2. Sorry I think I just drooled on the screen. That looks moolicious!

  3. When I heard you made goat cheese I was all “He’s nuts…making cheese is so hard!!!” But apparently it isn’t…and it looks delicious. I’m going to have to try this. Or…maybe I’ll just wait for you to get here and then I’ll beg you to make it for me!

    • You get the ingredients and I’ll whip up some cheese! Then we’ll go eat some cheesesteaks at Yankee Stadium while we wait for it to be ready! Wait, am I going to have to make mini-lasagnas, pretzel buns, short-ribs, and now goat cheese when we’re there?? You’re going to work me to the bone!

  4. This looks like such a fun project! I’ve never seen rennet before in the store but I guess I haven’t really been looking for it. Would love to try making my own!

    • I had to do a little searching for rennet, but found it at our Italian Centre Market at the deli counter. The package just says “milk coagulator”. If you find a store that makes their own cheese they will help you out! You’ll love it.

  5. Incredible post – very informative and gorgeous shots. We are into the Chevre making phase: Challenge Two of Cheesepalooza right now, and Addie referenced your post in his write up. I wish you had a sigh up by e-mail choice – I don’t read feeds – but love to get posts by e-mail. Then I would be up-to-date with Baconhound’s latest! I have made a lot of fresh cheeses now, and two things that kind of shocked me here:’
    1. putting the herbs into the cheese while making the cheese, instead of afterward… so unusual, but would be tasty!
    2. weighing the chevre… I know many fresh cheeses do get weighted down – like paneer – but have never heard of this with chevre…
    Great results, clearly, so incredible insight for me. Connie is my hero (next to you, of course! ) 😉
    I have had this salad there and it is unforgettable. Chevre and beets are a perfect and classic pairing. I love them together. I also have a great recipe for a chevre and beet salad with pistachio oil which I am crazy over and will make with my own chevre now!
    Thanks a bunch! Wish you were with us on this project… and yes – Fairwinds farm milk is a winner – just as Vital Greens is to Cows milk!
    🙂
    V

  1. Pingback: The Basic Chèvre | The big Cheese Project

Leave a comment